How to watch AMD’s Computex 2022 keynote live

AMD has been on a roll in recent years. Since the launch of the first Ryzen processors in 2017, the company has emerged as Intel’s main rival in the CPU world. It’s a similar story when it comes to GPUs, with the Radeon RX graphics cards going toe-to-toe with Nvidia’s GeForce RTX range.

With that in mind, it should come as no surprise to learn that AMD has already been very active in 2022. Ryzen 6000 Series CPUs are all about laptops, but the company has already teased that Zen 4-based Ryzen 7000 Series desktop chips are coming later in the year.

It’s possible we’ll hear about both at Computex, with AMD’s keynote already confirmed for the event in Taipei. Here’s everything you need to know.

What time is AMD’s Computex 2022 keynote?

AMD has confirmed that its Computex 2022 keynote will take place on Monday 23 May at 2pm local time. With the event in Taiwan, here’s how that translates around the world:

  • 11pm PDT
  • 2am EDT
  • 7am BST
  • 8am CEST

That means you’ll have to stay up late if you’d like to watch the keynote live from the US, or wake up early in Europe. As usual, the keynote will be available to watch back shortly after the live stream ends – it’s expected to last around an hour.

How to watch the AMD Computex 2022 keynote

Computex is returning to an in-person event this year, but all the main keynotes will still be available to watch around the world.

In 2021, the AMD event was streamed live on the official Computex YouTube channel and the Computex website. That’s likely to be the case again this year, but the stream itself isn’t yet available on either yet.

On AMD’s own website, the event page simply offers the option to be notified about the keynote.

What to expect from AMD at Computex 2022

The official title for the event is ‘AMD Advancing the High-Performance Computing Experience’. That doesn’t give much away, although a short paragraph on the AMD website mentions “next-generation mobile and desktop PC innovations”, as well as “cutting-edge CPUs, GPUs and software”. As a result, it’s possible AMD could talk about any of its upcoming hardware.

However, the most likely candidate is the Ryzen 7000 Series. The current Ryzen 6000 Series are only available integrated into laptops, so anticipation is building for the next generation of desktop CPUs.

AMD has already been teasing the new chips, revealing key specs such as the Zen 4 architecture, PCIe Gen 5 and DDR5 memory. Rumours suggest the company could officially launch the Ryzen 7000 Series at Computex, before the first CPUs go on sale in September.

On the GPU side, AMD has only just launched the Radeon RX 6950 XT, 6750 XT and RX 6650 XT. These cater to three very different price points, but the company could officially announce the next-gen Radeon RX 7000 Series. It’s expected to use the new RDNA 3 architecture, which should deliver a nice boost to performance.

Leave a Comment